Kill the Farm Boy


Kill the Farm Boy The Tales of Pell by Kevin Hearne; Delilah S. Dawson Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine Del Rey Sci Fi & Fantasy Pub Date 17 Jul 2018

Review

Kill the Farm Boy is one of the most hilarious fantasy novels I’ve ever read. It takes the old trope of a young man chosen for adventure and greatness and turns it on its head. Yes the farm boy and his now speaking goat Gustave set off for adventure, but Worstly is soon killed, the victim of an accidental squashing. What follows is a riotous pun filled adventure, with a group of mismatched and more than a little inept adventurers. From Fia, a warrior in an extremely uncomfortable chainmail bikini, Argabella a bunny bard, the crepuscular lord (not quite dark) whose magic centers around bread products, and Poltro the chicken fearing rogue to Gustave, the chosen one, who simply wants to avoid becoming curry and imbibe lots of delicious leather boots - these adventurers will make even the most staid reader laugh until they cry as they stumble from one bizarre encounter to another. The humor ranges from silly to exceedingly clever, never failing to give stereotypes a solid whack in the process.

Kill the Farm Boy is a humorous fantasy adventure that will appeal to fantasy lovers, fans of classic rpgs, and anyone looking to escape the stresses of daily life with a witty and well meaning novel.

5 / 5

I received a copy of Kill the Farm Boy from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

— Crittermom

Description

In an irreverent new series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett and Monty Python, the New York Times bestselling authors of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Star Wars: Phasma reinvent fantasy, fairy tales, and floridly written feast scenes. Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born . . . and so begins every fairy tale ever told. This is not that fairy tale. There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened. And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell. There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord, who wishes for the boy’s untimely death . . . and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini. This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar “happily ever after” that ever once-upon-a-timed.

#KevinHearne #DelilahSDawson #fantasy #sciencefiction #humor

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square