top of page

A magnificent return to the world of The Dragonbone Chair

The Witchwood Crown

By Tad Williams

Berkley DAW

Science Fiction & Fantasy

Pub Date 27 June 2017


I loved the original Dragonbone Chair trilogy, so it was with high expectations and with great excitement that I picked up The Witchwood Crown. I was immediately reminded how rewarding a complex, character driven fantasy can be. This isn’t a straightforward good vs evil tale. It is very complicated, with individuals having different motives and ideals that influence their actions (on both sides). Threads of lives weave together to create a vast overarching story.

Simon and Miri rule as High King and High Queen of Osten Ard. At the onset they are traveling through their lands to see an old friend,Duke Isgrimnur, who is near passing. Many of their old friends come together to share news, not all of it good. The Norns are active once more. Their immortal Queen has awoken, and she has plans to reignite the war between the races. I don’t want to reveal too much. It’s best to say that the story is incredible and immensely satisfying to read. It’s been a long time since I’ve read an epic fantasy of this quality. If you liked the original series, you will love The Witchwood Crown. Don’t be daunted however if you haven’t read The Dragonbone Chair and the rest of the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series. You will still be able to understand the world of Osten Ard. I eagerly await the next book.

5 / 5

I received a copy of The Witchwood Crown from the publisher and in exchange for an honest review.



New York Times-bestselling Tad Williams' ground-breaking epic fantasy saga of Osten Ard begins an exciting new cycle! • Volume One of The Last King of Osten Ard

Enter the epic fantasy world that inspired a generation of modern fantasy writers, including George R.R. Martin, Patrick Rothfuss, and Christopher Paolini. The Witchwood Crown begins Tad William's next masterpiece, bringing together the best of character-driven fantasy, action-packed high adventure, and monumental worldbuilding.


Osten Ard is at a critical turning point once again. Ancient enemies, long silent, are preparing to reclaim lands that were once theirs…

Explore more of Osten Ard in Tad William's landmark original trilogy—Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn—and the new stand-alone novel, The Last King of Osten Ard!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page