Meet the Indy of the Supernatural World

Owl and the Electric Samurai

By Kristi Charish

Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books

Pocket Star

Sci Fi & Fantasy

Pub Date 08 May 2017

Review

Owl and the Electric Samurai is a refreshing departure from the standard urban fantasy fare. Owl isn't a dime a dozen Mary Jane who suddenly has immense powers and a horde of hot paranormals chasing after her. Well she does have paranormals chasing after her mainly because they either want to kill her or want her to find/steal something for them.

Owl is a modern day Indiana Jane, an archaeologist turned thief who is employed to find supernatural artefacts. The IAA (the international archaeology association) wants Owl to find the creators of World Quest, a popular online RPG that just happens to have shown the locations of various real life treasures. Since screwing the IAA appeals to Owl for a multitude of good reason, so Owl plans to find the two developers before the IAA mercenaries do. Clues point to them being in Shangri-La but exactly where is Shangri-La. Meanwhile her boss’s lieutenant still has her cat - an intolerable situation, and wants her to find a suit of armor that changes appearance based on the wearer. Between avoiding mercenaries and navigating the world of supernatural politics, the likelihood of Owl dying is pretty high. At least she gets her cat back.

I’m impressed. Like Indiana Jones, Owl is quite adept at narrow escapes in dangerous situations. This novel has a large number of great action sequences, but that doesn't mean it is lacking plot. I also liked its unique approach to the supernatural. And of course Captain - how cool is it to have a cat that not only senses vampires but also intimidates them. My only quibble is the title. I kept wondering when the Electric Samurai would show up. (The Electric Samurai doesn't come into play until the end. It’s what Owl terms the magic armor.) I look forward to seeing what comes next.

4 / 5

I received a copy of Owl and the Electric Samurai from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

--Crittermom

Description

The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.

All in all, just another great day on the job.

#KristiCharish #Sciencefiction #Fantasy #urbanfantasy #May2017

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square