If you love the writing of Neil Gaiman, try Tom Pollock's The City's Son


The City's Son by Tom Pollock Quercus (US) SciFi & Fantasy Pub Date: February 29, 2016 Review The City's Son brings to light the beautiful and terrible magic underlying the streets of London - where the spirits of light bulbs dance, ghosts of trains roar through the city, and the son of Mater Viae, the goddess of the streets, struggles to fight an ancient enemy born of the greed and decay of London itself. Beth Bradley is a tagger, a 16 year old graffiti artist who breathes life into images born of paint and chalk. Her art is her escape from the bonds of an unforgiving world. Running from home and a misunderstanding with her friend Pen, Beth stumbles upon the hidden London, the London of Filius Viae, the prince of the streets. Impulsively and courageously, Beth pledges to assist him in his fight against Reach, the danger stirring beneath St Paul's Cathedral. With his lyrical and imaginative writing, Tom Pollock deftly earns his place amongst the best authors of magical realism. If you enjoy the writings of Neil Gaiman, Tony Ballantyne or Ben Aaronovitch, Tom Pollock is an author you won't want to miss. Upon reading The City's Son, you will understand why I am anxious to read The Glass Republic, the next book in the trilogy. The City's Son is not a young adult title, but it can be read by older teens. 5/5 I received a copy of The City's Son from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. --Crittermom Description Beneath the streets of London lies a city of monsters and miracles, where wild train spirits stampede over the tracks and glass-skinned dancers with glowing veins light the streets. Following a devastating betrayal, Beth Bradley, a sixteen-year-old graffiti artist, is suspended from school. Running from a home that she shares with her father who has never recovered after Beth's mother's death, Beth stumbles into the hidden city and meets Filius Viae, London's asphalt-hued crown prince. And her timing couldn't have been more perfect. An ancient enemy is stirring under St. Paul's Cathedral, determined to stoke the flames of a centuries-old war, and Beth and Fin find themselves drawn into the depths of the mysterious urban wonderland, hoping to prevent the destruction of the city they both know and love. And watch for book 2 in this trilogy THE GLASS REPUBLIC, coming in 2016!

#TomPollock #February2016 #fantasy

Featured Posts
Recent Posts