Another wonderful British police procedural from Matt Brolly

Dead Lucky: A DCI Lambert Thriller

by Matt Brolly

Carina UK

Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date: January 11, 2016

Review

Dead Lucky is a chilling police procedural that keeps the reader on edge until the very end. It even surpasses Dead Eyed, Matt Brolly’s first DCI Lambert thriller, which is a difficult feat. These books are not for the faint of heart, the manner of death is disturbing, although it is not portrayed in a gory way. In Dead Lucky, the victims are forced to watch their loved ones die a slow lingering death.

DCI Lambert and his team are given the case when a well known journalist’s wife is murdered. She is only the first, and Lambert has to uncover what links the victims before more are killed. The Watcher has a plan, and Lambert is part of his audience.

Besides facing a sociopathic killer, Lambert must deal with the politics of the force. The characters have lives that impact their jobs. Lambert and his group are real people not crime solving machines. It adds a very human aspect to what is clearly a tough task - maintaining life and relationships, despite a difficult and demanding job that exposes the darkest side of humanity.

If you like British police procedurals, then you need to read Dead Lucky and Dead Eyed. You won’t be disappointed.

5/5

Dead Lucky is available for preorder and will be released January 11, 2016

I received a copy of Dead Lucky from the publisher and netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

—Crittermom

——

Description

A fast-paced crime-thriller, full of chilling twists, turns and grisly surprises, Matt Brolly’s Dead Lucky will have you gripped from beginning to end!

DCI Michael Lambert is back…

When a woman is murdered, the twisted killer forcing her husband to watch her slow and painful death, DCI Michael Lambert knows that his next case might be his toughest yet.

And when a second set of killings are discovered, with exactly the same MO, the race is on the find the lethal sociopath before he strikes again.

But Lambert never expected to receive an anonymous call from the killer. This time, it’s personal: if Lambert doesn’t find the murderer soon, his own loved ones will be next…

The gripping second novel in a thrilling new crime series by Matt Brolly. Perfect for fans of Tony Parsons, Lee Child and Angela Marsons.

#Britishpoliceprocedural #January2016

Featured Posts
Recent Posts