The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton SOURCEBOOKS Landmark Sourcebooks Landmark Mystery & Thrillers Pub Date 04 Sep 2018

Review

The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is one of the most unusual and memorable mysteries that I’ve read. It is easy to compare it to Groundhog Day where the protagonist repeats the same day until he gets it right and Quantum Leap, where the protagonist inhabits the bodies of different people trying to make things right. Both give you an idea of what to expect, but neither wholly encompasses the unique nature of The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle. In this unusual murder mystery, you are trapped within a repeating scenario with one difference. Each day you wake up as someone else. Your task is to uncover who killed Evelyn Hardcastle and how, but you are not alone - there are others also searching for the killer, competitors who do not have your best interests at heart. The task is a dangerous one, your memories are fleeting and the lines between occupier and occupied are blurred as you seek out long hidden secrets and untangle the web of lies.

This novel is astounding, and if it was possible I would give it more than 5 stars. It is definitely an unusual approach to the classic manor house mystery.

5 / 5

I received a copy of The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

— Crittermom

Description

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened? The Hardcastle family is hosting a masquerade at their home, and their daughter Evelyn Hardcastle will die. She will die everyday until Aiden Bishop is able identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up each day in a different body as one of the guests. Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend. But nothing and no one are quite what they seem. Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that's an Agatha Christie mystery in a Groundhog Day Loop, with a bit of Quantum Leap to it. Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson and Claire North

#StuartTurton #mysterythrillers #September2018 #murder #supernatural #1920s

Featured Posts
Recent Posts