Murder She Reported


Murder, She Reported by Peg Cochran Random House Publishing Group - Alibi Alibi Historical Fiction , Mystery & Thrillers Pub Date 31 Jul 2018

Review

In the aftermath of the Depression, some wealthy families scaled back on ostentatious displays, but others continued to party despite the breadlines. Former debutante Elizabeth Adams has done the unexpected in taking a job at a local paper. Ostensibly the girl Friday for the Society columnist, Elizabeth is given a unique opportunity to fill in for an absent photographer. Partnering with the paper’s crime reporter, opens doors at the paper, but it’s her society connections that give her an opportunity to investigate when the step mother of this season’s IT girl is murdered. Asking questions and digging up secrets doesn’t make her popular, and the people she is investigating can do a lot of damage.

Murder She Reported is an excellent historical cozy, full of glamour, excitement and even a bit of romance. Elizabeth is a heroine that you happily cheer for. Not only has she conquered polio, she has set about making a career for herself - without trading on her name or station. Murder She Reported is an entertaining mystery that any cozy lover is likely to enjoy.

5 / 5

I received a copy of Murder She Reported from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

— Crittermom

Description

A Park Avenue princess discovers the dark side of 1930s New York when a debutante ball turns deadly in this gripping historical mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Anne Perry, and Rhys Bowen. Manhattan, 1938. Tired of being trapped in the gilded cage of her family’s expectations, Elizabeth Adams has done what no self-respecting socialite would think to do: She’s gotten herself a job. Although Elizabeth’s dream is to one day see her photographs on the front page of the Daily Trumpet, for now she’s working her way up as the newsroom’s gal Friday. But fetching coffee isn’t exactly her idea of fun. So when veteran reporter Ralph Kaminsky needs a photographer to fill in for a last-minute assignment, Elizabeth jumps at the chance. At the Waldorf Hotel, Elizabeth is tasked with tracking down the season’s “It girl,” Gloria DeWitt, who will be making her society debut. Working her own connections to New York’s upper crust, Elizabeth manages to land an exclusive interview with Gloria. Then Gloria’s stepmother is shot dead in a Waldorf bathroom, placing Elizabeth at the scene of a headline-worthy scandal: “Murder of a Society Dame.” Now Elizabeth will have to get the scoop on the killer before her good name gets dragged through the gossip columns—or worse. .


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square