If the Coffin Fits


If the Coffin Fits A Funeral Parlor Mystery by Lillian Bell Crooked Lane Books Mystery & Thrillers Pub Date 11 Sep 2018 Review Desiree may have left her job as an investigative reporter behind, but she certainly didn’t lose her nose for trouble. A suspicious conversation overheard at her family’s funeral home leads Desiree to look for wrongdoing. Violet Daugherty died in a one person accident, apparently a victim of drowsy driving. But Nate, Desiree’s friend and the local medical examiner, finds a few items that don’t add up - but is it murder? As Desiree digs into Violet’s life, the suspects multiply, and someone may be willing to kill again to keep from being discovered. If the Coffin Fits is an intriguing mystery that looks at how far people will go to belong and looks at the very real drama that arises when family connections long hidden are discovered. Desiree’s investigations have consequences, for her family’s business as well as herself but that doesn’t mean that they don’t pull together when she is in danger. If the Coffin Fits is an excellent cozy mystery that tackles one of the difficult questions today - what do you do when dna testing shows you have family you never knew existed. 5 / 5 I received a copy of If the Coffin Fits from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. — Crittermom Description Perfect for fans of Carolyn Haines and Donna Andrews, Lillian Bell makes the return with her second Funeral Parlor mystery featuring funeral director Desiree Turner. When an unnatural cause of death finds one of her clients, Desiree must get to the bottom of the murder before she's fitted for a coffin, herself. Funeral director Desiree Turner deals with death by natural causes all the time. Death by unnatural causes? Not so much. Yet, she and her boyfriend Nate have heard some not-so-dear things about the recently departed. A suspicious remark by the late Frank Fiore's daughters sparks some concern. And when Violet Daugherty faints behind the wheel of her car, Desiree suspects she's got a front seat to murder. Desiree can't help but look into Violet's untimely end, but soon after, rumors begin to spread that she's accusing her clients of murder, which quickly spurs a mass cancellation and Desiree is on the verge of going out of business. What began as an effort to do due diligence for her client turns into a wild goose chase for Violet's murderer. Desiree must find her proof before everything she works for is lost. But that's easier said than done, because while everyone else in town is looking to take their business elsewhere, the killer sets sights directly upon Desiree. Now it's up to Desiree to find the murderer before she becomes the next body her funeral parlor serves in If the Coffin Fits, Lillian Bell's second charming Funeral Parlor mystery.

#cozy #mysterythrillers #funeralparlour #September2018 #LillianBell

Featured Posts
Recent Posts