Be Our Ghost

Be Our Ghost A Merry Ghost Inn Mystery by Kate Kingsbury Crooked Lane Books Mystery & Thrillers Pub Date 09 Oct 2018 Review Be Our Ghost is not a paranormal mystery in the strict sense. There is a ghost who plays a small role, occasionally laughing and leaving the obscure clue, but by and large Be Our Ghost is a straightforward cozy. Liza and her granddaughter Melanie run a bed and breakfast, but in their spare time they are not adverse to investigating murder - particularly when their good friend Doug is the prime suspect in the death of a rich developer. Liza and Melanie are believable as amateur investigators, leaping to conclusions, worrying about whether they are doing the right thing, and asking plenty of questions. Though it may be realistic, it can also irritate readers. I also was a bit discomforted by grandmother and granddaughter dating brothers. Be Our Ghost is a good cozy, but far from an excellent one. In the past I’ve read books by Kate Kingsbury which have been far better. As a result I was expecting more. 3 / 5 I received a copy of Be Our Ghost from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. — Crittermom Description A delightful read for fans of Donna Andrews and Juliet Blackwell, national bestselling author Kate Kingsbury returns with a third installment of her Merry Ghost Inn mysteries. If bed-and-breakfast owners Melanie and Liza, along with their laughing ghost tenant, can’t find a real estate developer’s killer, their own estate will end up with their next of kin. The Merry Ghost Inn is well and truly open for business. Melanie West, her grandmother, Liza, and their beloved sheepdog/wolfhound mix, Max, are rapidly getting the hang of running their charming bed-and-breakfast inn on the rocky Oregon coast. Not that business goes without a hitch―when your hostelry boasts its own laughing resident ghost, you’d better be expect the out-of-the-ordinary. But Melanie and Liza take it all in stride…until a hotshot real estate developer arrives in Sully’s Landing, touting his plans to build a tacky amusement arcade smack dab in the middle of the tasteful cliff-side town. No one in Sully’s Landing can stand the gaudy developer, but it’s still a shock when he ends up murdered. It’s even more shocking when Liza’s friend, Doug, emerges as the chief suspect. Melanie and Liza put on their sleuthing caps yet again and set out to clear Doug’s name. They nearly check into accommodations six feet under when, en route to the crime scene, their brakes give out and they narrowly miss plunging over the cliffs to the beach below. Meanwhile, the merry ghost who haunts the inn tries to help by dropping clues for Melanie to find, but her mind is otherwise preoccupied when the killer kidnaps Liza and holds her prisoner. Now, it’s up to Melanie to piece together the ghost’s clues, save her mother, exonerate her friend, keep her guests happy, and make sure Max gets his walkies in Kate Kingsbury’s third mirthful Merry Ghost Inn mystery, Be Our Ghost.

#cozy #mysterythrillers #KateKingsbury #October2018 #ghosts

Featured Posts
Recent Posts