Whisper the Dead


Whisper the Dead

A Cotsworld village mystery

by Cameron, Stella

Severn House Publishers

Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 01 Apr 2018

Review

Stella Cameron’s Cotswold village mysteries are excellent, non-formulaic cozies with more depth than the average cozy mystery. The characters, both central and supporting are complex, with their histories, feelings, and goals driving the plot. When Alex’s curiosity leads her to view the new housing development, she ends up rescuing the developer trying to enter a burning trailer. It also means she is on the scene when a murder victim is discovered. In addition to worries from being drawn into another murder investigation, Stella is concerned for her mother, who is behaving strangely.

Murder, deception and family secrets all play a role in Whisper the Dead. If you like classic British mysteries and series like Midsomer Murders, you will definitely enjoy Stella Cameron’s Whisper the Dead.

5 / 5

I received a copy of Whisper the Dead from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

-- Crittermom

Description

With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders

When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder.

A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.

Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past …

Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.

#StellaCameron #cotswolds #British #mysterythrillers #April2018

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square