One Way


One Way

by S. J. Morden

Orbit Books

Orbit

Sci Fi & Fantasy

Pub Date 10 Apr 2018

Review

One Way is a chilling near future sci fi novel that is believable in the way that human life means little when compared to corporate profit. Frank and other cons with special skills and a lack of family or other outside contacts are recruited for what may be a great adventure or simply another way to die. The promises seem attractive - rewarding work, better food, respect. The cost of failure, less so, but it is enough for Frank to volunteer to become part of the crew intended to build a habitat and research station on mars.

Things are not quite as expected. Supplies are short and crew members are dying in what appears to be tragic accidents. The mission overseer is a cruel tyrant and there are things that just don’t add up. If Frank is to survive he will have to find out just what is going on, and what the real plans of the company contracted to build the mars base are.

Part scifi thriller , part And Then There Were None, One Way is an engrossing novel that shows just how little humanity is of concern when profit is on the line. I’m eager to read the next novel in the series - No Way.

5 / 5

I received a copy of One Way from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

— Crittermom

Description

When the small crew of ex cons working on Mars start getting murdered, everyone is a suspect in this terrifying science fiction thriller from bona fide rocket scientist and award winning-author S. J. Morden.

It's the dawn of a new era - and we're ready to colonize Mars. But the company that's been contracted to construct a new Mars base, has made promises they can't fulfill and is desperate enough to cut corners. The first thing to go is the automation . . . the next thing they'll have to deal with is the eight astronauts they'll send to Mars, when there aren't supposed to be any at all.

Frank - father, architect, murderer - is recruited for the mission to Mars with the promise of a better life, along with seven of his most notorious fellow inmates. But as his crew sets to work on the red wasteland of Mars, the accidents mount up, and Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all. As the list of suspect grows shorter, it's up to Frank to uncover the terrible truth before it's too late.

Dr. S. J. Morden trained as a rocket scientist before becoming the author of razor-sharp, award-winning science fiction. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir's The Martian and Richard Morgan, One Way takes off like a rocket, pulling us along on a terrifying, epic ride with only one way out.

#Sciencefiction #Fantasy #space #colonisation #Mars #SJMorden #April2018

Featured Posts
Recent Posts