The Cat of the Baskervilles


The Cat of the Baskervilles

A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery

by Vicki Delany

Crooked Lane Books

Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 23 Feb 2018

Review

Cat of The Baskervilles is a Holmesian cosy that will leave fans purring. Gemma Doyle makes her living selling Holmesiana - books and all other things related to the great detective. But she has more in common with Sherlock than she likes to believe - an ability to observe minutiae and make deductions based on her observation.

When Sir Nigel, an actor past his prime and well into a relationship with the bottle, is cast as Holmes in the West London Theater Festival, many are overjoyed, remembering finer moments earlier in his career. But when he takes a topple soon after flopping his lines at a promo event - an event where he was seen arguing with Leslie Wilson moments before - the initial verdict is murder. Gemma knows Jayne Wilson’s mother is innocent, but as she is unwilling to tell the truth, things look bad. To top things off Louise Estrada, a detective who resents Gemma’s past interference, is determined to make a quick arrest. Gemma has to act quickly if she is to find the truth and keep Jayne’s mother out of jail.

The Cat of the Baskervilles is a cute cosy tribute to Sherlock Holmes. My only complaint is that the cat of the title had only a walk on part - and that is simply personal preference. I liked the array of quirky West London characters. They made this book memorable.

4 / 5

I received a copy of The Cat of the Baskervilles from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

— Crittermom

Description

When Jayne Wilson’s mother is accused of murder, Jayne and Gemma have to eliminate the impossible to reveal the true killer.

Legendary stage and movie star Sir Nigel Bellingham arrives on Cape Cod to star in a stage production ofThe Hound of the Baskervilles put on by the West London Theater Festival. When Sir Nigel, some of the cast, and the director visit the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop at 222 Baker Street, Gemma Doyle realizes that Sir Nigel is not at all suited to the role. He is long past his prime and an old drunk to boot.

The cast, in particular the much younger actor who previously had the role, are not happy, but the show must go on.

Before the play opens, Leslie Wilson, mother of Gemma’s best friend Jayne, arranges a fundraising afternoon tea to be catered by Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room. The tea is a huge success, but when it’s time to leave, Sir Nigel has gone missing—only to be found at the bottom of the rocky cliff, dead. Along with the dead body, Gemma finds evidence incriminating Leslie Wilson. When the police, in the presence of handsome detective Ryan Ashburton and suspicious detective Louise Estrada, focus their attention on Leslie despite the numerous other suspects, the game is once again afoot and it’s again up to the highly perceptive Gemma and the ever-confused but loyal Jayne to clear Jayne’s mother’s name.

Fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle, and Sherlockians everywhere will delight at The Cat of the Baskervilles, the clever third Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mystery.

#pets #cozy #SherlockHolmes #amateur #VickiDelany #February2018

Featured Posts
Recent Posts