The Magician's Lie


The Magician’s Lie by Greer Macallister Legend Press General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers Pub Date 03 Apr 2017

Review

The Magician’s Lie is a spellbinding mystery with a heroine, an illusionist by trade, giving the performance of her life - one where her life lies and her freedom lies in balance. Did she murder her husband? The answer seems clear to Virgil Holt, a young policeman who by chance captures the fugitive Arden. What he wants is a confession - what he gets is a mesmerizing tale of a woman surviving against the odds. If he turns her in, her innocence or guilt doesn't matter, but if she can convince him and work her magic….

Arden is Scherezade reborn. The tale she tells is powerful and captivating. But is it true? Or does the truth matter? I was swept away, first by the premise of The Magician’s Lie, then by Arden’s storytelling. I couldn't bear to put the book down. Like Holt, I had to know what happened next and how she arrived at this crossroads.

The Magician’s Lie is a magnificent novel that will easily appeal to a wide range of readers. Greer Macallister is a skilled and imaginative storyteller who deserves to be recognized.

5 / 5

I received a copy of The Magician’s Lie from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

--Crittermom

Description A USA Today Bestseller '[A] well-paced, evocative, and adventurous historical novel...' --Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review 'This is a book in which storylines twist, spiral and come together again in an ending as explosive as a poof of smoke from your chimney... or a top hat.' --Oprah.com 'Smart, intricately plotted... a richly imagined thriller.' --PEOPLE magazine 'This debut novel is historical fiction that blends magic, mystery, and romance.' --Boston Globe, Pick of the Week 'It's a captivating yarn... Macallister, like the Amazing Arden, mesmerizes her audience. No sleight of hand is necessary. An ambitious heroine and a captivating tale are all the magic she needs.' --Washington Post 'A wonderfully dark and intriguing historical thriller... I loved it!' --Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Came Home The Amazing Arden is the most famous female illusionist of her day, renowned for her notorious trick of sawing a man in half on stage. But one night she swaps her trademark saw for an axe. When Arden's husband is found dead later that night, the answer seems clear, most of all to young policeman Virgil Holt. Captured and taken into custody, all seems set for Arden's swift confession. But she has a different story to tell. Even handcuffed and alone, Arden is far from powerless, and what she reveals is as unbelievable as it is spellbinding. A magical and mysterious historical thriller, perfect for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants.

#April2017 #mysterythrillers #historicalmystery #illusionists #GreerMacallister

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square