The Lost Child


The Lost Child (Detective Lottie Parker Book 3) by Patricia Gibney Bookouture General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers Pub Date 27 Oct 2017 Review The Lost Child is a stark thriller that leaves the reader shuddering in a mix of pity and disgust. At once it shows the devastating effects of neglect and abuse and the extent the wealthy are willing to go to hide their secrets and their shames. Detective Lottie Parker doesn't have an easy life. She is a struggling alcoholic crippled by the death of her husband. She has three children living at home, the oldest with a baby and an overbearing and critical mother. Her father, a policeman committed suicide years ago, and there are whispers that he was corrupt. Her newest case begins with the murder of an elderly woman and the disappearance of her daughter. They are only the first to die in a case linked to the past, one that stretches to the time of Lottie’s father and is possibly linked to his death. As the body count rises, it becomes clear that a determined and conscienceless killer is seeking a harrowing revenge. Each chapter is preceded by the killer’s reminiscences, which give an understanding but do not give away the the killer’s identity. Lottie is not the most likable person or the most professional detective, but her actions are believable. What is less believable are some of her personal links to the case. I have mixed feelings about The Lost Child. It’s a good novel but far from perfect. Lottie’s behavior makes it difficult to empathize with her. Gibney’s plotting of the murders, on the other hand, is well thought out. 3 / 5 I received a copy of The Lost Child from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. --Crittermom Description They placed me in here and threw away the key. I look down at the gown they’ve put on me. I want my own clothes. I don’t know how long I’ve been here. An elderly woman is found murdered in her own home, and Detective Lottie Parker and her partner Detective Boyd are called in to investigate. When they discover that the victim’s daughter is missing as well, they start to fear for the safety of the whole family… Two days later as a nearby house is set on fire and with the body count rising, Lottie and her team begin to unpick a web of secrets and lies, as the murders seem to link back to a case investigated by Lottie’s father before he took his own life. With little knowledge of what really happened to her father, Lottie knows this is a case that could give her some answers. But how much does she want to know? And how far is Lottie prepared to dig to uncover the truth? The Lost Child is a thrilling page-turner from the bestselling author of The Missing Ones and The Stolen Girls that will have you guessing right to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons and Robert Dugoni.

#Britishpoliceprocedural #mystery #October2017 #PatriciaGibney

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square