The Body in the Marsh


The Body in the Marsh A completely gripping crime thriller with a shocking twist you won't see coming by Nick Louth Canelo General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers Pub Date 25 Sep 2017 Review Rarely does a mystery offer such an extreme and plausible twist. Reading The Body in the Marsh, I discovered how deceiving appearances can be and how forensics can be manipulated to create a very different truth. What first appears to be a standard procedural is definitely something far more complex and far more compelling. The amount of research Nick Louth must have done in preparation is difficult to conceive. The Body in the Marsh has two adjoining plotlines. The first is the disappearance of an academic and his wife and her apparent murder and dismemberment. The second is a cold case. Allegations of rape and abuse by a young repeat offender are now being reexamine do after her suicide. The police are accused of mishandling the case, and one of their most stringent critics is the missing academic. Complicating the former is the SIO, DCI Craig Gillard’s history with the academic’s missing wife. The development of the central plotline overwhelms the secondary cold case, but there is enough overlap to justify its inclusion. The Body in the Marsh is an impressive thriller. Louth’s killer is a brilliant tactician, and the resulting drama pushes The Body in the Marsh far ahead of its standard competition. If you like police procedurals, pick up a copy of The Body in the Marsh - you won't be disappointed. 5 / 5 I received a copy of The Body in the Marsh from the publisher and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. --Crittermom Description When a woman goes missing, it gets personal for DCI Craig Gillard. But he could never imagine what happens next. Criminologist Martin Knight lives a gilded life and is a thorn in the side of the police. But then his wife Liz goes missing. There is no good explanation and no sign of Martin… To make things worse, Liz is the ex-girlfriend of DCI Craig Gillard who is drawn into the investigation. Is it just a missing person or something worse? And what relevance do the events around the shocking Girl F case, so taken up by Knight, have to do with the present? The truth is darker than you could ever have imagined. Utterly gripping and full of twists, this is a compulsive thriller from master Nick Louth for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gubney and Carole Wyer.

#NickLouth #September2017 #Britishpoliceprocedural

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square