Dark Saturday is a chilling thriller


Dark Saturday

By Nicci French

Harper Collins

William Morrow

Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological

Pub Date 11 July 2017

Review

Where does troubled end and insane begin? Hannah Docherty has been incarcerated in a mental hospital for a decade - beaten, isolated, savaged by both residents and keepers. She was accused of killing her entire family, enclosed and forgotten. In return for a favor, psychotherapist Freida Klein meets with Hannah. as she examines the case notes, doubts are raised. If Hannah didn’t murder her family, who did? As Frieda investigates, it becomes clear a murderer escaped justice and will go to any length to hide the truth.

What makes this novel especially harrowing is knowing all the while that Hannah is innocent. She was a troubled teen, in with the wrong crowd, but she wasn't a murderer. Her horrendous experiences in the mental hospital have driven her insane. What is further frightening, is that Frieda’s sociopathic protector/adversary is making his presence known in small ways.

Dark Saturday is a chilling psychological thriller well worth the read.

5 / 5

I received a copy of Dark Saturday from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

--Crittermom

Description

One of the world’s most acclaimed suspense writers—husband-and-wife team Nicci French—deliver a compelling story of old sins and fresh blood—a riveting thriller perfect for fans of Gilly Macmillan, Jane Shemilt, and Fiona Barton

She hadn’t realized the stabbing was happening, even though it was with her own knife. She’d stolen it and kept it beneath her mattress and brought it with her, tucked in her waistband. But it has all gone wrong…

A decade ago, eighteen-year-old Hannah Docherty was arrested for the brutal murder of her family. It was an open-and-shut case, and Hannah’s been incarcerated in a secure psychiatric hospital ever since.

When psychotherapist Frieda Klein is asked to meet Hannah and give her assessment, she reluctantly agrees. But what she finds horrifies her. Hannah has become a tragic figure, old before her time. And Frieda is haunted by the thought that Hannah might be as much of a victim as her family—that something wasn’t right all those years ago.

As Hannah’s case takes hold of her, Frieda begins to realize that she’s up against someone who will go to any lengths to keep the truth from surfacing—even kill again.

Utterly harrowing and compelling, Nicci French’s thriller takes readers down a labyrinthine trail of secrets, suspense, and murder.

#NicciFrench #July2017 #fiction #thrillers #psychological #mystery

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square