top of page

The Witch Who Came in From the Cold is spy-fi fantasy at its best

The Witch Who Came In From The Cold The Complete Season One by Lindsay Smith, Max Gladstone, Ian Tregillis, Cassandra Rose Clarke, Michael Swanwick Serial Box Mystery & Thrillers, Sci Fi & Fantasy Pub Date 01 Jun 2016 Review Ok, I admit it. I am a fan of 60s spy-fi. Callan is one of my all time favorite tv series. I also love fantasy. So it is no surprise that in my mind magic and Cold War spy fiction go together as well as peanut butter and chocolate. The Witch Who Came in from the Cold is a delectable series blending the two. It is the height of the Cold War, and the US and the KGB are fighting a covert war of deception and speculation. At the same time, another war is being waged - a hidden war between mages allied to Ice and the mages allied to Fire. Allies and enemies overlap, and one's enemy in one war may be one's closest ally in the other. The series is set in Prague and focuses on two central characters, Tanya Morozova, a KGB officer and dedicated Ice witch, and Gabe Pritchard, a CIA operative reluctantly drawn in the world of magic after a mission goes awry. Magic, politics, and espionage - The Witch Who Came In From The Cold is a fantastic blend to satisfy fantasy connoisseurs. The Witch Who Came In From The Cold Omnibus Edition contains all 13 episodes of Season 1. 5/5 I received a copy of The Witch Who Came In From The Cold from the publisher and in exchange for an honest review. --Crittermom Description Through a haze of cigarettes and vodka there lies a version of Prague in the heart of the Cold War, where spies practice sorcery in their games of intrigue. While the political lines may be as clear as the Iron Curtain, the battles of magic seldom stay clean and the combating forces of Ice and Flame dance across borders and loyalties. Tanya Morozova is a KGB officer and the latest in a long of Ice sorceresses; Gabe Pritchard is a CIA officer and reluctant Ice recruit. Enemies at one turn, but forced into alliances at the next, their relationship is as explosive as the Cold War itself. The Witch Who Came In From The Cold is an episodic serial presented by Serial Box Publishing. This collected omnibus edition gathers all 13 episodes from Season 1.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page