A mystery lover's fantasy


A Death at the University by Richard King Bonnier Publishing Mystery & Thrillers Pub Date: March 10, 2016 Review A Death at the University is the realization of every mystery reader’s dream. What mystery lover does not imagine what it would be like to help the police investigate a murder? From examining crime scenes to sitting in on suspect interviews, Sam Wiseman gets to live his dream after discovering the dead body of one of his bookshop’s clients. His friend Gaston Lemieux is in charge of the investigation, and allows Sam where few non-police are allowed. It isn’t realistic, but it is fun to read about. I enjoyed learning about the unique melding of French and Anglo culture and language common to Montreal, as well as the etiquette common to meeting new people. Understanding of language differences plays an important role in A Death at the University. While it isn’t the best novel, it is readable and entertaining. Some of the technology is a bit dated, but doesn’t detract from the novel. On the whole A Death at the University is a solid first novel, and I look forward to seeing how Richard King’s writing progresses. 3.5/5 (rounded to 4) I received a copy of A Death at the University from the publisher and netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. —Crittermom Description For fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders, A Death at the University is the first book in a new cosy crime series, introducing Sam Wiseman. Sam Wiseman runs an independent bookshop in the heart of Montreal. He leads a simple life - until the day he apprehends a shoplifter and strikes up an unlikely friendship with Gaston Lemieux, the investigating officer in the case. Later, when Sam discovers the body of professor Harold Hilliard - a long-time customer of the store - dead in his office at nearby McGill University, clutching a special order form from the bookshop, he is implicated in the murder. With the help of Lemieux, Sam must investigate the murder, and clear his name.

#March2016 #murder #mystery #cozy #Canada #RichardKing

Featured Posts
Recent Posts